top of page

Financial Update: Front Porch Market Edition


Tim and I are relieved…RELIEVED…that our adoption fundraising days are drawing to an end. We have been in awe of how God has poured financial blessing upon financial blessing upon us during this time. He has used all of you to do that and overall our fundraising efforts have been successful.

However, asking for money is hard. Asking for is over and over; posting post after post regarding fundraisers was hard. Thank you for loving us so well by supporting us and thank you for not screaming at the top of your lungs when you saw another fundraising post {though you would have been in good company…me!}.

Despite my relief that this part of the process is over, there are some really fun memories from that season. One of my favorites was getting to be a part of Front Porch Market.

My friend, Rachel, has been hosting Front Porch Market at her home for many years. It is once a year and gives local entrepreneurs the opportunity to sell and market their items at a place that greatly resembles Stars Hallow.

I had embroidery items left over from my Blue Hippo Linens days and I jumped at the chance to be able to sell those as a fundraiser for our adoption.

The weeks leading up to Front Porch Market were hectic as I prepared the embroidery items I already had and added many new items to the collection. My house looked like a sweat shop for 2 weeks, I did not prepare 1 meal at home, and the hum of my embroidery machine could be heard early in the morning and well into the night hours.

The night of Front Porch Market could not have been more perfect. It was unseasonably cold but people still came. Scarves, hot cups of cocoa, and twinkle lights made the whole event feel magical.

On my drive home, I called Tim. He asked if my hard work had paid off. Honestly, I didn’t know what to tell him. Instead, I felt discouraged wondering if it had been worth the time. I hadn’t done an official count of the funds raised but I was pretty certain it was close to $225. {Though every $ helps…I had spent hours upon hours prepping.}

Still in my scarf and coat, I sat down at the kitchen table to count the money. We had raised $478.19. Almost double what I had thought!

As tears of gratitude to our God ran down my face, I was reminded of the widow in 2 Kings 4. She beseeched the help of Elisha in her time of need. When asked what she had to offer, she confessed that she only possessed a little oil. Elisha told her to collect jars from her friends, go home, shut the door, and begin pouring oil into the jars. She poured and poured and poured until she beckoned her son to bring her another jar. “But he replied, ‘There is not a jar left.’”

How I have felt like this widow! What we had was not enough. We asked our friends to partner with us. You have given us all of your jars, and we thank you. And, God has allowed the oil to keep flowing. Our jars are not empty…they are full! Even when they should have been empty, God filled them to the brim…praise be to God!

We want to be faithful stewards of all that has been given to us and give a status update regarding our adoption fund. A little reminder, here is where we were in September…

Fee Where it came from

Pre-Application Fee……$100 Kennedy Savings

Orientation Fee………….$250 Lindsey’s Embroidery Sales

Application Fee………….$750 Kennedy Savings

Home Study……………….$6k Unpaid/Have in Savings {but is almost ALL of savings}

& Pre-Placement Fee

Marketing Fee……………$6k Unpaid/Don’t Have

Match Fee………………….$10k - $25k Unpaid/Don’t Have

Legal Termination………$2k Unpaid/Don’t Have

& Post-Placement Fee

Fundraising Goals

Dittos for Kiddos: $650

Garage Sale: $3000

T-Shirt Sale: $2500 +

Mini - Photo Session $2000

Front Porch Marketplace $750

Grants $5000 +

Here is where we are currently…

Fee Where it came from

Pre-Application Fee……….$100 Kennedy Savings

Orientation Fee……………..$250 Lindsey’s Embroidery Sales

Application Fee……………..$750 Kennedy Savings

Home Study…………………..$6k Kennedy Savings/Fundraisers

& Pre-Placement Fee

Marketing Fee……………….$6k Fundraisers/Monetary Gifts

Match Fee……………………..$10k Monetary Gifts/Kennedy Savings/$5,800 owed

Legal Termination………….$2k Unpaid/Don’t Have

& Post-Placement Fee

Consummation Hearing…$1,100 Unpaid/Don’t Have

Funds Raised!

Dittos for Kiddos: $ 307.04

Garage Sale: $ 2592

T-Shirt Sale: $ 1708.37

Mini - Photo Session $ 642.24

Front Porch Marketplace $ 478.19

Print Shop $ 140

Generous Family & Friends $ 2840

Embroidery $ 320

Y’all, you have helped us raise $9,027.84… $9,027.84! I don’t really know how to process this.

As you can see, we still have a little ways to go…$8,900 owed. However, we are currently working on 2 grant applications. 1 of the grants is a “matching grant”. If we are awarded this grant, they will match up to $4000 of moneys that are donated by friends and family members {and you can get a tax credit}. We are still in the process of finalizing our paperwork and will make an announcement if we are awarded this opportunity. The other grant is a direct grant. They allocate funds based on availability and award grants up to $5000.

Despite not being fully funded yet, we fill like it is just around the corner. We are at peace.

Photos courtesy of wix.com gallery and yours truly.


bottom of page