top of page

Love That Let Us Share Our Name

When Tim and I started becoming good friends, I would conveniently position myself on Facebook chat several times each day just in case Tim might be on. I would rarely start the conversation as “guys only truly like you if they are willing to pursue you”. However, shamelessly making myself available was definitely in my job description. My heart would soar and my day would be made if I heard that little ding and see the chat box pop up.

One night right before bed, I heard that familiar ding that ensured at least a brief conversation. That night we discussed music and I was introduced to The Avett Brothers. I did a quick search and found their song “Murder in the City”. I was immediately hooked.

{If you do not know The Avett Brothers, immediately go to YouTube and do a quick search. They are folksy and absolutely delightful!}

Nevermind…nevermind…here’s the link. Listen to it now!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RbW08aKDoQ4

The Avett Brothers quickly became the soundtrack for Tim and my dating relationship, our engagement, and our newlywed days. There may have been several months while we were dating that Tim would sing the song “I & Love & You” to me instead of actually telling me that he loved me.

When Tim and I got serious about adopting, we knew we would do a t-shirt fundraiser. I scrolled images for hours trying to find a shirt that perfectly fit us and our story. I wanted something with a tree. The image of God adopting us and grafting us into His family tree has been very powerful to me. Tim was interested in something with arrows.

“Children are a heritage from the Lord, offspring a reward from Him. Like arrows in the hands of a warrior are children born in one’s youth. Blessed is the man whose quiver is full of them.” {Proverbs 127: 3-5}

There were some shirts that we liked but nothing that “spoke” to us.

One afternoon Tim looked at me with bright eyes, quoted “Murder in the City”, I started crying, and it was settled.

Our friend, Nil Santana, honored us by designing our shirt and I knew it was “our shirt” when I started crying as soon as I laid eyes on it.

Here it is…

Photo and design courtesy of Nil Santana.

These lyrics have always been special to us. In the early days of being a Kennedy, I would think of how much Tim must love me to willingly share his name with me. {I am still honored and feel very loved by that!}

I am overwhelmed by the love of our God being willing to share His name with us. He loved each of us so much that He orchestrated a beautiful story of faithfulness and redemption through Jesus Christ so that we could be called His and be given His name.

And now for our little family, He has orchestrated a beautiful story that allows us to share our name with a little baby who we have never met but already love so deeply. I am honored and overwhelmed by God’s gracious love that is allowing adoption to be a part of our family’s story.

“Always remember there was nothing worth sharing

like the love that let us share our name.”

To order our special {and oh so beautiful} shirts, go to...

https://www.bonfirefunds.com/kennedy-adoption-fund

Thank you for loving us and our baby by supporting us in this way!


bottom of page